A Blogging Hiatus

So this summer I took a blogging hiatus….pretty much a hiatus from anything besides my boys.  At the end of the school year, I vowed to spend as much time with my boys as I possibly could.  I have truly been living up to that and loving that being a teacher gives me summers off.  It definitely doesn’t mean that I work less, because you can ask my 5 year old and he’ll tell you “Mommy works too much.” But it does give me a chance to have my career and be a 3 month out of the year stay at home mommy.  With the boys being 5 and 2, this summer has been extra special.

We have done a lot…..   Roger Williams Zoo, Sesame Place, The Maryland Zoo, Connecticut Science Center, swim lessons, many pool dates at my parent’s house, numerous cook outs and parties, plus much more!!!  I have had an amazing time with them.  Even more special moments have been shared each day….when wanted I have snuggled the boys and napped with them; it’s the moments of one hugging me or falling asleep on my shoulder as the other reaches out to hold my hand that I can’t trade for anything.  It’s the little arts and crafts I have done with them that gets many “Thanks Mommy – this is so cool.”  It’s all the little hugs between the boys and the fights that I have witnessed and broken up.  Plus all the family time with the hubby when he comes home from work or has the day off.

It’s all these moments that I look forward to all year.  You might ask, you don’t get these moments during the year when you work?  I do…but I don’t have as clear of a mind as I do now – just focusing on them!  During the school year, I look forward to picking up the boys from daycare and being greeted with running hugs and squeals!  Don’t get me wrong, I love my job – but I love my boys and family more.

So this summer has been a hiatus from everything except the pure enjoyment of my boys and family.

About alyshacarmody

I'm an art teacher aka working mom that has two wonderful boys, ages 4 and 9 months. My husband is a police officer who works nights; so I find that my style of parenting isn't always what others approve of, but it works for us! I am very crafty so I am always finding new projects to try and think that I am "green" or at least try to be. My philosophy is live laughing and loving. This blog is intended as an adventure so we'll see how it goes...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

