Our Hero

Every night when my husband goes to work, I always say I love you and to be safe.  This has become my mantra with being married to someone who is in Law Enforcement…so much so that even our 5 year old always tells his Dad to be safe if he is awake when his daddy is going to work.  I feel that it gives me some peace of mind.  It’s definitely not easy, but as a wife of an officer you learn to have a thick skin, if not for your sake but for your children’s.  You know how dangerous their jobs are, but you don’t want to admit it.  As a wife, or any partner of someone in Law Enforcement, it is also equally as hard to hear everyone’s negative comments about those in the field, yet another thing you learn to become immune to.  So as we build up our thick skins and keep those we love as “Heroes” in our children’s eyes, it is extra special when they are actually honored as a “Hero”.  My husband whom I am so proud of, was honored as a Red Cross Law Enforcement Hero.  It was a great breakfast and honor for him and his fellow officer, who ran into a burning building to pull out a man trapped inside.  They were truly heroes this night, and are every night.  They are those that ensure we are remaining safe.  I am truly honored to call him my husband and am so grateful the boys have him as their dad!  Congrats honey!ImageImage

 

About alyshacarmody

I'm an art teacher aka working mom that has two wonderful boys, ages 4 and 9 months. My husband is a police officer who works nights; so I find that my style of parenting isn't always what others approve of, but it works for us! I am very crafty so I am always finding new projects to try and think that I am "green" or at least try to be. My philosophy is live laughing and loving. This blog is intended as an adventure so we'll see how it goes...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

