Hurricane Sandy Recap

Fortunately, Hurricane Sandy didn’t have as big of an impact on us as it did many others. Yet it was still worrisome. When Sandy was warning of coming, I made sure to stock up on a few things just in case – bottled water, toilet paper, batteries, and candles. I guess you could say I just wasn’t as worried as I would have been if my husband had to work on Monday night. Plus I was pre-occupied sewing to ensure that I had CJ’s halloween costume completed (I wasn’t going to be that mom who didn’t have her child’s costume done…Sandy just wasn’t getting in my way! I finished at 3:30 am Monday.) Then on Monday the storm rolled in.

It had high winds that blew around some toys….hubby still grilled chicken and hotdogs outside for us after we lost power. When the power went out, I improvised. The iPad was charged, phones charged, changing station made near the window, LeapPad had new batteries, glow sticks on hand, and the Halloween decorations provided us with our light! I think I was well prepared. My biggest worry was that hubby still had to go to work since he is a police officer. I commend all our service workers who are out there at all times for us! Thank you. So that meant snuggle time and early bed time with the boys!!! The next day still yucky and no power. The power was out for about 21 hours and we were lucky.

Here are some images….

20121105-232229.jpg

20121105-232241.jpg

20121105-232246.jpg

20121105-232253.jpg

20121105-232259.jpg

20121105-232319.jpg

20121105-232334.jpg

About alyshacarmody

I'm an art teacher aka working mom that has two wonderful boys, ages 4 and 9 months. My husband is a police officer who works nights; so I find that my style of parenting isn't always what others approve of, but it works for us! I am very crafty so I am always finding new projects to try and think that I am "green" or at least try to be. My philosophy is live laughing and loving. This blog is intended as an adventure so we'll see how it goes...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

