I dared…the pediatrician by myself…

Yesterday, Calvin had a pediatrician appointment for his 15 month check up. When I scheduled it I made it so I could take him after work, on a day hubby was supposed to have off. Well things change and he ended up working a double so no help for me. I daringly went with both boys and expected to have to return on Thursday (yes two days later) for their flu shots. I figured both would be separate appointments. In the beginning things went great and CJ was awesome – really listening and behaving, which is sometimes hard to do being 4 and wanting to go go go.

After a bit of waiting, CJ started getting restless and bouncing around the room. Calvin also started getting restless and tried climbing on everything, literally everything. Not to mention we were seeing the new doctor to practice. The new doctor was awesome! Calvin is healthy minus yucky diaper rash for teething, which she sent in a prescription for. So for now, we will be using disposable diapers instead with the medicine. Yes, I am not cloth diapering when using it just because it’s easier than having to strip the diapers afterwards. Now the shots….yikes. Calvin had to have 3 shots at this appointment. Due to one being a live culture, he either had to have his flu shot then or wait 1 month. You mean I could have it done now and not Thursday??? What about CJ’s flu shot since he was with me? The doctor said she could have both boys have their flu shots then!!! Woohoo only one trip. The catch was that my husband was not with me. I then prepped CJ and talked to him. He said okay and that he’d be brave. Not so much. He DID NOT want the shot. He kicked, tried hitting, crying, and screaming. I was holding Calvin who was getting upset that CJ was upset. The nurse had to have the doctor help hold him still to give him his shot. He was pissed to say the least and so worked up. I do have to say that the doctor was awesome! I was so embarrassed with his actions too. Calvin then had his 4 shots too and CJ got upset that he was getting shots. It was definitely not easy! Next time CJ has to have shots, hubby will definitely being going!!! The upside, I did have everything done and didn’t have to go for a second time this week.

About alyshacarmody

I'm an art teacher aka working mom that has two wonderful boys, ages 4 and 9 months. My husband is a police officer who works nights; so I find that my style of parenting isn't always what others approve of, but it works for us! I am very crafty so I am always finding new projects to try and think that I am "green" or at least try to be. My philosophy is live laughing and loving. This blog is intended as an adventure so we'll see how it goes...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

