Challenges of working full time.

Now that school has been in session and we’re almost done with the 4th week, I have notice some challenges I have been facing since going back. Challenges personally, physically, and at home. I have also realized that being a cloth diapering mom is much easier when you are at home, but I haven’t given up!

A few things personally that have been a challenge are the inner struggles of feeling guilty when leaving your children to work. I know I have to help provide from my family along with my husband and I love my job, but that hasn’t made going back any easier. There are times that I wish I was at home with my boys and having fun, but I also know how lucky I am to have summers off with them. There is also guilt from loving going back to work because I love my job and students. The inner personal struggles suck!

Then there are the physical challenges of getting up earlier by 1.5 to 2 hours regularly. I used to get up at 7 am and work out before the boys woke up. I had a great routine going on a regular basis of running on the treadmill or doing yoga. This took a pause when I went back to work because quite frankly it’s hard enough just getting up at 5 am and getting the boys out of the house in the morning. You have to train yourself again to get back into a routine that works for you. So as I struggled with that challenge I felt like I was letting myself down! However, this week I started getting back into a little routine with completing yoga the first two days in the mornings and taking today off. I plan on doing yoga the next two mornings and running this weekend. I am trying to ease back into my physical routines. It’s still not easy. So might even suggest working out after work, but by that time I am fried. So the tiredness of going back to work is another challenge too!

Man oh man do these challenges keep piling up….

The last few challenges fall into the at home category! Making dinner….not so easy just to figure it out and have the time to make arrangements during the day. Now I need to have it figured out the night before or plan in advance and shop in advance. Not easy! I am starting to turn to my crock pot once again! Cloth diapering is another challenge, especially with laundering. I have been running the laundry for cloth diapers at night and then hanging them on the drying rack in the morning around 5:30 ish but this challenge is whether or not I can place the drying rack outside on the deck, so I check out the weather and then make the call. I have also purchase 3 Alpaca dryer balls to be able to dry them in the dryer since it’s getting much colder. I already miss the sun! I will blog more about the dryer balls later. Oh yeah, did I mention the cleaning challenge with the lack of time? I probably could keep going, but that’s it for now.

Whenever I feel myself drowning in guilt, I remind myself that I have a loving husband, two amazing healthy boys, a home, and food…so working helps provide that. Also indulging in my two boys sharing hugs, kisses, giggles, and more makes all the guilt and bad go away!

About alyshacarmody

I'm an art teacher aka working mom that has two wonderful boys, ages 4 and 9 months. My husband is a police officer who works nights; so I find that my style of parenting isn't always what others approve of, but it works for us! I am very crafty so I am always finding new projects to try and think that I am "green" or at least try to be. My philosophy is live laughing and loving. This blog is intended as an adventure so we'll see how it goes...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Challenges of working full time.

  1. Lisa Carignan says:

    You are an amazing mother, teacher, daughter, neice, sister, etc! I am constantly amazed at how many balls you juggle! You also are right in that you have so much to be thankful for starting with a wonderful husband and two fabulous loving little boys! Call me when you want me to pick them up and enjoy them for a few hours. When I pick them up you could go for a run from school and then have your workout done and not have to get up earlier! Just a thought! Love You! Auntie Leese

Leave a Reply

