New sleeping arrangements.

With my first son I co-slept with him and most nights still do. Neal works midnights so I have never been bothered by him sleeping with us when he wants to, which is most nights – some he sleeps in his sleeping bag on the floor next to our bed and some in his bed. To be perfectly honest, I like snuggling with him. I don’t know how long it will last, but I will take all the snuggling time I can get since our kids grow up way too fast.

This time around with our second son, I have co-slept with him too. But this time I breastfed 6 months longer than with my first (3 months vs. 9 months), and co-sleeping made it much easier for night time feedings. Again I liked my snuggle time. However, in the past week Calvin has been a monster getting him too bed. He stands up at the head of our bed and jumps…rolls around…sits up…throws himself back…and so on… I just couldn’t stand it anymore, but he is a handful. So I decided to put him in his crib and let him fall asleep 5 nights ago. It has gone like this…

Night 1 – cried for about 20 mins – went in and comforted him once and fell asleep – slept through the night to 6 am! (First time he’s slept through the night!!!)

Night 2 – cried for about 45 mins – went in three times and comforted him even tried rocking him the second time – finally fell asleep – woke back up – finally fell back asleep – slept till 2 am and then came back in bed with me – I caved!

Night 3 – cried for about 20 mins (or so hubby says) and fell asleep – woke back up and cried for a few minutes – fell asleep and slept through the night.

Night 4 – cried for about 20 mins – went in and comforted him a few times (maybe 2) – fell asleep – slept till about 5 am and snuggle with me in bed.

Night 5 – cried for about 15 mins – fell asleep – woke up a few hours later – went in gave him his binky back rubbed his back and cover him up – now he’s sleeping again.

We’ll see how tonight goes. Right now CJ is in my bed so I have one snuggle buddy and the other is sleeping in his crib. I will tell you that I hate letting him cry – at least it’s not very long otherwise I would completely cave in and get him (like I did on Night 2 just a lot sooner). I really don’t mind having my boys with me because to be 100% honest, I like knowing they are safe with me – I actually sleep better. Now with Cal in his crib, I sleep lighter. Hopefully, I can get used to it. We’ll see how the next few nights go.

Have any other Moms experience anything like this? Also do you use a bumper in your crib? If so what kind the normal or breathable??

About alyshacarmody

I'm an art teacher aka working mom that has two wonderful boys, ages 4 and 9 months. My husband is a police officer who works nights; so I find that my style of parenting isn't always what others approve of, but it works for us! I am very crafty so I am always finding new projects to try and think that I am "green" or at least try to be. My philosophy is live laughing and loving. This blog is intended as an adventure so we'll see how it goes...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to New sleeping arrangements.

  1. Julie M. says:

    I like seeing other perspectives of how people deal with sleeping:-)

  2. Mandy says:

    No bumper at all. Michelle started in a PNP in our room. We transitioned to her crib around 4 months and she has been fine. I was too scared to let her sleep in our bed. I didn’t want to roll on her or for her to fall out.

    • alyshacarmody says:

      No bumper? Does she ever wedge herself against the bars?

      • Mandy says:

        Nope. At my parent’s house she rolled into the side and that woke her up. No bumpers there either. I was too paranoid (notice the recurring theme?) that she could suffocate. If she gets to close to the edge or gets stuck I’ll hear her cry. Her crib at our house is big so it hasn’t been an issue yet. She’s been in it for almost two months.

Leave a Reply

