The first of many hits…

20120726-223509.jpg

See the slight red mark on his forehead… (hard to see in the photograph but it’s there – I swear).

I had one idea all decided to write about today, until I had the first of many brotherly hits in my house. I do need to say up front that it was an accident and a lesson was learned by my 4 year old, but it was interesting.

CJ was walking around casually swinging the wiffle ball bat around as he was walking, when he was supposed to be putting it away. Then he made full on contact…hit his little brother, Cal in the head – right in the middle of his forehead…with the bat. Cries started by both parties.

I scooped up Cal and hugged him close while evaluating the mark – not too bad and applied an ice pack (the fish ice pack) – got him to calm down. In the midst I yelled at CJ and told him to put the bat away and he was crying. With Cal in one hand, I then hugged CJ close too. Explaining to him that it was an accident, we know he didn’t mean it but that he needs to be more careful. Pay attention to what he’s doing and that he shouldn’t be swinging the bat in the house…it was NOT an indoor toy only an outdoor toy.

Once I got both calmed down, things were good. I can only laugh about it now, but I know that it will be the first of many hits – accidental or not. I sure will have my work cut out for me.

About alyshacarmody

I'm an art teacher aka working mom that has two wonderful boys, ages 4 and 9 months. My husband is a police officer who works nights; so I find that my style of parenting isn't always what others approve of, but it works for us! I am very crafty so I am always finding new projects to try and think that I am "green" or at least try to be. My philosophy is live laughing and loving. This blog is intended as an adventure so we'll see how it goes...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

