I always said I wouldn’t be a minivan mom…

As we drive back (28 hours) from Tulsa, Oklahoma to Waterford, Connecticut, I am finding once again that I braved being a minivan mom. I had always said I wouldn’t be a minivan mom, but once I had CJ (my big baby boy weighing 10.7 lbs at birth on his due date) I found lugging a car seat wasn’t very easy. I also new we wanted more children so when the deals were good I looked into trading in our newly used-purchase of our Hyundai Santa Fe (my baby hippo) that I loved oh so much because I knew it would become too small sooner than later. I also hated putting the car seat in and out of the small SUV. It was torturous with how heavy the car seat with the baby was, plus I knew that I needed something easy when we switched to the convertible car seat. So listening to my mom and aunt’s advice, mostly my mom’s I started looking into minivans. Seeing that they came with automatic doors, dvd players, and seat heaters, I started thinking it might not be such a bad idea. So the minivan search began. I found a great deal through a local Carmax. When I went to see it the minivan (Chrysler Town & Country) it test drove wonderfully and was very comfortable and spacious. Plus the deal was right. So I left the same day as a minivan owner. I was probably in shock at first but I am now a proud minivan mom!

I love the dvd player as for our long trips to various places, mainly Maryland to see family which seems like a quick trip compared to this road trip, helps keep my four year old occupied. The spaciousness makes it easy to retrieve thrown binkies, dropped toys, snacks needed, and even allows for an easy diaper change when restrooms at a restaurant or rest stop doesn’t have a changing table in the bathroom. I love the rear control for heat and AC since my kids temperatures are always warmer than mine and need cooler temps! I also absolutely love the storage space in the back and in the floor! Anything we purchase can easily be taken home since the seats can fold into the floor. I have yet to say I just don’t have enough room. It rocks! So now I can say that I am a proud minivan mom! (Yikes I never used to think I would say that…)

20120701-194554.jpg

About alyshacarmody

I'm an art teacher aka working mom that has two wonderful boys, ages 4 and 9 months. My husband is a police officer who works nights; so I find that my style of parenting isn't always what others approve of, but it works for us! I am very crafty so I am always finding new projects to try and think that I am "green" or at least try to be. My philosophy is live laughing and loving. This blog is intended as an adventure so we'll see how it goes...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

