Cloth diapering doable for a working mom!

So some friends and family members just don’t get why I am cloth diapering now with Calvin my second, since I never did with CJ. Plus some say it’s more work now since we don’t have any diaper services around like my mom and aunt had with us growing up. But quite frankly, cloth diapering has changed and the diapers come in ubber cute patterns, prints, and solid colors. They are super easy to use and wick away a lot of moisture from your baby’s bottom. This has helped with Cal’s diaper rash break outs. It also saves money since you aren’t constantly using disposables, plus it’s saving the planet one diaper at a time. Partially I decided to also try it in my efforts to go more green. I’m not currently at 100% cloth diapering, and I am not sure if I ever will be at 100% but the efforts are there.

In the beginning, I didn’t think it was for me either and thought it was gross, but don’t knock it before you try it. There are gadgets, such as my handy dandy Bumgenius Diaper Sprayer that make it easier to clean off yucky poopy diapers. Plus the cloth diaper laundry detergent Rockin Green does a great job getting the diapers sparkly clean each wash. Truly easy. As a working mom, I didn’t want extra added to my work load at home and it may add one extra load of laundry here and there but that’s it. It is truly not a time consuming task if you’re a working mom but it is a little more work than plain old disposables.

What I am finding hard, is building up my stash since I am starting late in the game. I want to try different kinds so I am always looking for new ways to get diapers for less. I have been entering giveaways and that helps! I have won 1 Sunbaby Diaper and 2 wetbags from a giveaway by J&N Baby, and currently have an Eco Sprout Bottom Balm that I can’t wait to receive.

I am also finding it hard to get my husband to participate. I know I will win him over in the end, or at least I hope to, but it’s harder getting there than I thought.

About alyshacarmody

I'm an art teacher aka working mom that has two wonderful boys, ages 4 and 9 months. My husband is a police officer who works nights; so I find that my style of parenting isn't always what others approve of, but it works for us! I am very crafty so I am always finding new projects to try and think that I am "green" or at least try to be. My philosophy is live laughing and loving. This blog is intended as an adventure so we'll see how it goes...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

