Sleep patterns.

I am a mom who has breastfed my boys, maybe not as long as I had hoped in either case but it worked for them. Needless to say I was also a mom who believes in co-sleeping. Co-sleeping can strengthen the bond between mom and baby, if done safely; but I am not going to lie, that wasn’t my reasoning for it. Mine was truly it made life at night easier. I was able to nurse easier, especially after having an unplanned c-section with my first, and a planned with my second. I also loved the feeling of how close they were, which felt safe. With my hubby gone at night for work (being a police officer), the feeling of security meant a lot to me too.

As my first has gotten older, it has been harder breaking him of sleeping in our bed. He wants to go to sleep some nights, probably 75% in our room. We then either relocate him once he’s fallen asleep or lay with him in his room to get him to fall asleep, or sometimes he just wants his room. It all depends, but with the recent nightmares of mommy forgetting him places, he’s also slept with me a few nights too. Lately he’s also had his friends sleeping with him. Tonight he attempted to sleep in our room, but we told him no and put him in his room where he slept all night!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Yay!!!!!

20120531-124520.jpg

On the other hand, knowing more with your second child you find you are able to do things easier. Cal still co-sleeps some nights for part of the night, but I am already making progress of getting him to sleep in his crib. He’ll fall asleep rocking or snuggling with us, and then we put him in his crib. His sleep sheep also helps keep him asleep. The Sleep Sheep is a great gift for any new mom!!! A true must have. But how can you not want to snuggle him all night???

20120531-124529.jpg

About alyshacarmody

I'm an art teacher aka working mom that has two wonderful boys, ages 4 and 9 months. My husband is a police officer who works nights; so I find that my style of parenting isn't always what others approve of, but it works for us! I am very crafty so I am always finding new projects to try and think that I am "green" or at least try to be. My philosophy is live laughing and loving. This blog is intended as an adventure so we'll see how it goes...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

