The Greatest Show on Earth

20120515-081735.jpg

20120515-081715.jpg

20120515-081744.jpg

My sister informed me that the Ringling Bros. & Barnum and Bailey Circus was coming to town and it was the year of the dragon so they would be doing a special dragon show….she figured CJ would love it since it is considered “The Greatest Show on Earth” – THANK YOU MAURA!!!!! I jumped on the idea and consulted some veteran moms about the show and they suggested I get tickets in the middle of the arena so CJ could see everything (something I never thought about). I then went on Ticketmaster and bought three tickets for Neal, CJ and I. I just have to say that I loved the feature on Ticketmaster where all the open seats pop up as dots and you can literally pick the seats you want!!! I chose three seats in the middle on the end of a row so if needed we could easily escape for the bathroom – great idea on my part!!!

The show suggested we arrive an hour early to be able to go down and see the animals much closer – we did! CJ loved it! He got to see lions, tigers, and the elephants, plus the goats, mini-horses, alpacas or maybe they were llamas, full size horses, and the donkeys. The coolest part was the baby elephants – so ugly and cute!!! However, it was kind of gross that when the elephants pooped or peed the caretakers put buckets under them, but it does minimize clean up – still I would not want that job!

When that was over we went back upstairs into the area to sit down and get ready for the show. The circus was selling so many toys – a mom’s worst nightmare!!! We allowed CJ to get a snow cone which came in a super cool elephant circus bowl! The bowl was awesome and now he has a great ice cream bowl. That was a win win for $11. We also got him popcorn – how can you go to the circus without getting popcorn???

When the show started we didn’t know what to expect. The pyrotechnics were awesome and they had dragons – even a fire breathing mechanical dragon!!! CJ loved it and the dragons were his favorite! They also had the traditional lion – tiger show, elephant show, cats and dogs performing (cats???? I never expected that), the horse show, trapeze artists (my favorite) with incredible stunts, a steel cage with not one but eight motorcyclists (Neal’s favorite), and much more. The show was two and half hours with a brief intermission! Luckily no one was sitting in front of us because after the first hour CJ was bouncing around and couldn’t sit still, but he loved it.

The only major glitches were that he wanted cotton candy and I thought he definitely didn’t need that much sugar especially for $12. He also didn’t want to leave so he cried most of the way to my Aunt’s house where we were picking up Cal. Overall it was an awesome date day for Neal and I with CJ!!!!!

About alyshacarmody

I'm an art teacher aka working mom that has two wonderful boys, ages 4 and 9 months. My husband is a police officer who works nights; so I find that my style of parenting isn't always what others approve of, but it works for us! I am very crafty so I am always finding new projects to try and think that I am "green" or at least try to be. My philosophy is live laughing and loving. This blog is intended as an adventure so we'll see how it goes...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

