Firsts

So today has truly been a new experience in itself; well actually “tonight”. Today was pretty much a normal day hanging out, playing, and napping with my boys. Who can resist when your little man asks you to lay down with him? I know I can’t. However, all of that quickly changed at dinner time. Yes another dinner time battle…

We went to my parent’s house for dinner. Cal was great and ate everything, corned beef, potatoes, carrots, his rice mum mums, and was as happy as happy could be until I told him NO! He was banging his head against the back of the high chair; thanks Big Jay and Jock for teaching him that! He thinks that it’s hysterical and I just don’t, so tonight when I told him no he grunted at me. Not his normal little grunt but this was a full fledged pissed at mom grunt…we are going to have our hands full with him as he grows up. Soon after he was back to his merry self, and that was the start of the “firsts”. The firsts then continued after yet another dinner battle with CJ – again over trying a bite of something new. We even told him that he could spit it out if he didn’t like it and only had to try a bite of either corned beef, potatoes, or carrots. However, my stubborn little man who gets his stubbornness from both mom and dad, truly stuck his ground. So we stuck ours and said that he couldn’t have an ice cream sandwich and that we were going to go home. When he saw we were serious a temper tantrum began. Whoever said the terrible 2’s should be slapped! It’s the terrible 3 to 4’s – this is the point them really talk back and know what to say to make you mad! I will take the temper tantrums at 2 any day over the tantrums now. This tantrum was full body throwing, kicking, screaming, telling us we’re an idiot – so he went to time out and to bed. He lost his privileges for the evening. Then once he calmed down he came out to apologize. I am so relieved that he knows that it’s important to say I’m sorry! That didn’t stop me from being a mess and in tears though. This is one of those firsts that you never wish any parent to experience. So glad that it’s over with now! I just hope that this doesn’t happen tomorrow night at dinner, but we’ll see.

I then got the boys to bed and cupcakes were made since it was a rainy day after all! I think I just needed to eat one – food can make you feel better! Once that was complete I finished my first cloth diaper that I had been working on. It definitely isn’t as good as it could be but it gave me an excuse to try something new and start using my new sewing machine. With it being late, I decided to find my phone, pick up, and go to bed. I couldn’t find my phone anywhere! I tried calling it and it went straight to voicemail. Crap!!! I knew CJ had it and now it’s missing so I tried calling the hubby but he had no clue. I was starting to panic since after all, how do we live without our phones? After searching the house and having no luck I decided I had to wake CJ up since he was playing with it last. He repeated a few times “boat.” all groggy. I had no clue what that meant and looked in his pirate ship but it wasn’t there. It was after 11pm, and I had to wake him up. He got out of bed, staggered into the kitchen and got my phone out of his battleship. Who would’ve guessed the battle ship ate mommy’s phone? I think he may have some of Auntie Maura’s hiding things traits…

Then the last of firsts came when I was brushing my teeth and used the bathroom cup to rinse my mouth out. I got a mouth of soap! Apparently someone enjoyed playing with the soap when he was washing his hands! All I could do was laugh… Our kids definitely keep us on our toes.

Here’s to a night of firsts….full out tantrum, cloth diaper sewing, baby getting pissed, hiding cell phones, soapy drinks….what will I face tomorrow?

The first cloth diaper I made today…

20120423-010134.jpg

The mighty phone swallowing ship…

20120423-010212.jpg

About alyshacarmody

I'm an art teacher aka working mom that has two wonderful boys, ages 4 and 9 months. My husband is a police officer who works nights; so I find that my style of parenting isn't always what others approve of, but it works for us! I am very crafty so I am always finding new projects to try and think that I am "green" or at least try to be. My philosophy is live laughing and loving. This blog is intended as an adventure so we'll see how it goes...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

